Ohio University Office of Career Services


Staff Feature: Ali Woodworth, Graduate Assistant by Christy R

Staff Feature:
Ali Woodworth,
Graduate Assistant

In the Office of Career Services Office at Ohio University we emphasize to students that Career Exploration is a process that an individual may go through several times in their lives. While I have only graduated from college two years ago, I exemplify this idea as I have already made one career change.

As an undergraduate I attended Ohio State University.  I went to school with very clear goals about the things I wanted to accomplish and the career I wanted after graduation. Through a senior shadow program at my high school I found and shadowed a woman who would later become my mentor, in corporate marketing communications. Due to this experience I went to Ohio State University the following year, with very clear goals and a definite career choice in mind.  During my time at Ohio State, I enjoyed my classes but found that my internships helped me to gain a better perspective of what exactly a job in this field entailed. I loved the creative aspects of these internships, but found myself going home at the end of the day feeling unfulfilled. Was I making a difference? After reflecting on what I valued in a career, I realized that I wanted a career that would allow me to interact in a meaningful way, helping others and making a difference in their lives.

Inspiration to pursue a Master’s Degree in College Student Personnel at Ohio University was prompted by my own undergraduate academic adviser. Every quarter we met, discussing different classes and how they aligned with my interests and overall goals. She helped me to plan out every quarter efficiently, ultimately enabling me to graduate in four years. In my adviser, I felt I had found an ally, someone who was genuinely interested in helping me to achieve the goals I had set and introducing the countless resources available to me at Ohio State. My adviser truly impacted my college career in such a positive way, making a large university feel not so large after all. My senior year at Ohio State, as I shared my revelation that marketing communications wasn’t right for me, she suggested I look into getting my master’s degree in higher education. After getting to know me over the years, she believed that my personality, goals and values would be a perfect fit with counseling and advising positions at a college or university.

After researching different career paths and graduate programs, I felt as though a light bulb went off. This was the perfect career for me! As my first year of grad school at OU is coming to an end I am now positive that I’ve chosen the right career for me. In addition to my work in the Career Services Office, I’ve had the opportunity to see many other facets of student affairs, from working with Turning Points Student at the Allen Student Help Center, to Academic Advising in the Patton College of Education.

Upon graduating next year I hope to find a position either in academic advising or career counseling. Both positions would give me the opportunity to interact with students, guiding them through their college careers and helping them to navigate the challenges that arise along the way.  It is my goal to show students all of the tools, opportunities, and options available to help them to succeed both in their academic careers, and for the rest of their lives.

To make a career counseling appointment with Ali or to talk to her about her career search experience, call or stop by the Office of Career Services.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment